Home - Taxonomy - Geography - Biodiversity - Literature - Purchase RepFocus Recent updates

Rune Midtgaard

Taxonomy of the family Typhlopidae
Bibliography of the genus Sundatyphlops
Biodiversity of the family Typhlopidae


Lesser Sunda Blind Snakes



1843 Pseudotyphlops Fitzinger [not Pseudotyphlops Schlegel 1839 (Uropeltidae)] (type species: Typhlops polygrammicus Schlegel 1839; syn. Nagy, Marion, Glaw, Miralles, Nopper, Vences & Hedges 2015 [by implication])
2014 Sundatyphlops Hedges, Marion, Lipp, Marin & Vidal (type species: Typhlops polygrammicus Schlegel 1839)
Contents: 1 species, which is not endemic.
Endemism: 0% 100%
Remarks: Synonymized with Anilios by Pyron & Wallach (2014), but revalidated by Nagy, Marion, Glaw, Miralles, Nopper, Vences & Hedges (2015).
Distribution: As for the single species.

Sundatyphlops polygrammicus

Many-lined Blind Snake, Southern Papuan Blind Snake, Northeast Australian Blind Snake


Mangestribet Ormeslange

1839 Typhlops polygrammicus Schlegel
Argyophis polygrammicus Gray 1845
Typhlina polygrammica McDowell 1974
Ramphotyphlops polygrammicus Cogger, Cameron & Cogger 1983
Sundatyphlops polygrammicus Hedges, Marion, Lipp, Marin & Vidal 2014
Anilios polygrammicus Pyron & Wallach 2014
1897 Typhlops florensis Boulenger
Typhlops polygrammicus florensis Forcart 1953
1911 Typhlops elberti Roux
Typhlops florensis elberti Mertens 1929
Typhlops polygrammicus elberti Forcart 1953
1927 Typhlops florensis undecimlineatus Mertens
Typhlops polygrammicus undecimlineatus Forcart 1953
1929 Typhlops florensis brongersmai Mertens
Typhlops polygrammicus brongersmai Forcart 1953
1930 Typhlops soensis De Jong (Hahn 1980)
Typhlops polygrammicus soensis Iskandar & Colijn 2001

Remarks: Previously included Anilios nigrescens and A. torresianus. Records from southeastern Australia refer to A. nigrescens. Records from northeastern Australia, Torres Strait Islands, and southern New Guinea refer to A. torresianus (Hedges, Marion, Lipp, Marin & Vidal 2014).
Distribution: East Timor, Indonesia (Bali, Flores, Komodo, Lombok, Penida, Sumba, Sumbawa, West Timor).