Home - Taxonomy - Geography - Biodiversity - Literature - Purchase RepFocus Recent updates
Citation: Midtgaard, Rune. RepFocus - A Survey of the Reptiles of the World. (www.repfocus.dk).
Latest update: December 31st, 2022.

Taxonomy of the family Cyclocoridae
Bibliography of the genus Oxyrhabdium
Biodiversity of the family Cyclocoridae


Philippine Burrowing Snakes

Philippinische Wühlnattern

Filippinske Gravesnoge

1854 Stenognathus Dumeril, Bibron & Dumeril [not Stenognathus Chaudoir 1843 (Insecta)] (type species: Stenognathus modestus Dumeril, Bibron & Dumeril 1854)
1893 Oxyrhabdium Boulenger [substitute name for Stenognathus Dumeril, Bibron & Dumeril 1854]
Contents: 2 species, both of which are endemic.
Endemism: 0% 100%
Distribution: Philippines (Babuyan Islands [Calayan], Bohol, Camiguin Sur, Catanduanes, Cebu, Dinagat, Leyte, Luzon, Mindanao, Mindoro, Negros, Panay, Samar, Sulu Islands [Basilan]).

Oxyrhabdium leporinum

Philippine Banded Burrowing Snake

Philippinische Gebänderte Wühlnatter

Filippinsk Båndet Gravesnog

1858 Rhabdosoma leporinum Günther
Oxyrhabdium leporinum Boulenger 1893
1872 Stenognathus brevirostris Peters (Leviton 1957)
1958 Oxyrhabdium leporinum visayanum Leviton

Other common names:
visayanum: Western Visayan Banded Burrowing Snake
Remarks: A record from Mindanao (Relox, Leano & Ates-Camino 2011) is regarded herein as erroneous, following Supsup, Guinto, Redoblado & Gomez (2017).
Distribution: Philippines (Babuyan Islands [Calayan], Cebu, Luzon, Mindoro, Negros, Panay).

Oxyrhabdium modestum

Philippine Bandless Burrowing Snake, Philippine Shrub Snake, Non-banded Philippine Burrowing Snake

Philippinische Einfarbige Wühlnatter

Filippinsk Ensfarvet Gravesnog

1854 Stenognathus modestus Dumeril, Bibron & Dumeril
Rhabdosoma modestum Günther 1879
Geophis modestus Boettger 1886
Oxyrhabdium modestum Boulenger 1893
1885 Geophis schadenbergi Fischer (Leviton 1957)

Remarks: Records from Negros need confirmation (Leviton, Siler, Weinell & Brown 2018).
Distribution: Philippines (Bohol, Camiguin Sur, Dinagat, Leyte, Mindanao, Samar, Sulu Islands [Basilan]).